Quick Guide to Eating Gluten Free

Here is a quick guide to a gluten-free (GF) diet.  This is a quick overview, but please obtain medical advice for further information. Read all labels of food products to determine if a product is gluten free. Celiac disease (CD) is a genetic disorder affecting both adults and children. When people with CD eat foods that contain gluten, it causes a toxic reaction that can lead to damage of the small villi along the intestinal tract. Therefore, food is not properly absorbed, which can lead to several health issues if even the smallest amount of gluten is ingested. Damage can occur to the small bowel even in the absence of symptoms.Grains allowed
Rice, Corn (Maize), Soy, Potato, Tapioca, Beans, Garfava, Sorghum, Quinoa, Millet, Buckwheat, Arrowroot, Amaranth, Teff, Montina, Flax, Coconut and Nut Flours.Grains not allowed in any form
Wheat (Einkorn, Durum, Faro, Graham, Kamut, Semolina, Spelt), Rye, Barley and Triticale.

Foods/products that may contain gluten
Beers, Ales, Lager, Breading; Coating Mixes, Brown Rice Syrup, Communion Wafers, Croutons, Dressings, Drugs; Over-the-Counter Medications, Licorice; Energy Bars, Flour; Cereal Products, Herbal Supplements, Imitation Bacon, Imitation Seafood, Marinades, Nutritional Supplements, Pastas, Processed Luncheon Meats, Sauces; Gravies, Self-basting Poultry, Soy Sauce or Soy Sauce Solids, Soup Bases, Stuffings, Dressings, Thickeners, Vitamins; Mineral Supplements


Alcohol
Wine and hard liquor beverages are gluten free. Beers, ales, lagers and malt vinegars are NOT gluten free. Gluten-free beers are now available in the United States.

Always read the label
Don’t eat foods with labels that list questionable ingredients unless you can verify they do not contain or are not derived from prohibited grains. Labels must be read every time foods are purchased. Manufacturers can change ingredients at any time.

If You Don’t Know, Don’t Eat
Don’t eat a food if you are unable to verify the ingredients or if the ingredient list is unavailable. Regardless of the amount eaten, if you have celiac disease, damage to the small intestine occurs every time gluten is consumed, whether symptoms are present or not.

Wheat Free Is Not Gluten Free
Spelt is a form of wheat and should not be eaten on a gluten free diet. Just because it says Wheat Free does not make it Gluten Free.

Know For Sure

Get tested for celiac disease before starting the gluten free diet in order to be properly diagnosed.

2 comments on “GF Quick Guide”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *