Memorial weekend is right around the corner and no better way to spruce up a gluten-free hamburger than to add a little Caramelized Bourbon Bacon Jam, gluten-free of course! Be careful when it comes to buying booze, though; not all are gluten-free.
Is Bourbon Gluten-free?
Bourbon is generally made of 51% corn or maize, both of which are gluten-free grains, while the remaining 49% can be made from a mash of assorted grains, including wheat, barley and rye. So how can it be considered gluten-free? The gluten protein is removed during the distillation process, so in some circles it’s considered gluten-free. Check out the full list of gluten-free alcohol beverages here.
Ingredients for a Great Bourbon Bacon Jam!
Start off with extra crisp bacon, sautéed onions, shallots and garlic. Add in the “special sauce” and you have the makings for the best burger ever!
Caramelizing the sauce is the key to turning it into a jam that spreads deliciousness across your gluten-free bun!
And it looks as good as it tastes! You just may want to double the batch because it’s easy to eat it straight from the jar!
Add a little aoli and maybe some Gouda or Blue Cheese and seriously take a bite of the best burger ever. I wish you could scratch and sniff my pictures. You would rush to the store to buy the ingredients right away! If you’re heading to a backyard BBQ, bring the bacon jam and you’ll be hounded for the recipe, I guarantee it!
Have a Favorite Pin Board?
Just pin me to your favorite Pinterest board for a quick reference to the recipe.